Review: VMV Hypoallergenics Subtle Shine Lipstick in Girl Next Door

In the past two months, I seem to have jumped from three lipsticks – one frequently used, the two rarely – to seven lipsticks. Egads. I think it’s because I’m about to finish my favorite of them all, Benefit Cosmetics’ Full-Finish Lipstick in La La Land, and since then I’ve been on the lookout for something new and better – knowing that if my search failed, I could always buy a new tube of the same old.

My GlamourBox December box arrived last Monday and to my delighted surprise, included was a tube of VMV Hypoallergenics Subtle Shine Lipstick in Girl Next Door.

Image

a.k.a. my seventh lipstick

I’m familiar with the brand though I haven’t used any of their products yet, which is one more plus for GlamourBox and the whole concept of beauty box subscriptions. Best of all, it comes in full size which retails for PHP1,050 – which is already about twice as much as the cost of the box. Hurrah!

From the VMV website:

The lipstick equivalent of the little black dress: an elegant basic that never goes out of style.

Great impact via intense color, a touch of fun from an elegant satin shine.

Brushing up on the classics. This rich, satiny, silky-shine lipstick is timeless beauty of a higher skintelligence.

100% Dye-Free.

100% Free of Irritating Waxes (including Beeswax and its cross-reactors), Phthalates, Parabens + Preservatives.

100% Free of All-Types-Of-Fragrance.

With titanium dioxide + iron oxide pigments for additional sun protection.

With green tea for antioxidant benefits plus virgin coconut oil for intensive moisturization.

Besides preventing chapping + other irritations, all this safety prevents darkening of the lips and acne/rashes around the mouth and chin.

Ingredients:
Phenyl Trimethicone, Cocos Nucifera (Coconut) Oil, Ricinus Communis (Castor) Seed Oil, Microcrystalline Wax, Paraffin, Ozokerite, Aqua/Water/Eau, Butylene Glycol, Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract, Glyceryl Laurate, Glyceryl Caprate, Glyceryl Dibehenate, Tribehenin, Glyceryl Behenate.

May Contain:
Dye – Free Shades:
Glycerin, CI 77891 (Titanium Dioxide), CI 77019 (Mica), CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499 (Iron Oxides), Silica, Alumina, Talc
Other Shades:
Glycerin, Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, CI 77891 (Titanium Dioxide), CI 77019 (Mica), CI 77499 (Iron Oxides), *CI 15850 (Red 7 Lake), *CI 15985 (Yellow 6 Lake)

I love that it’s dye-, paraben-, preservative-, and fragrance-free. It also moisturizes, protects from the sun, and prevents darkening and rashes. The packaging is quite nice, too – a little different from the standard lipstick boxes in its make and eco-friendliness.

Upon opening the tube the color, to me, is a medium plum/mauve shade. I loved it on first sight, as it was quite close to my favorite shade.

Upon application, I felt that the consistency was slightly thick, but not sticky. It didn’t glide on my lips as I expected, nor did it feel moisturizing. I think a lip balm would be a great prep for the lips before applying this lipstick. I couldn’t attest to its sun-protecting rash-preventing properties, though I will try to monitor for both as I continue to road test it.

Now, this lipstick is called Subtle Shine – but I wouldn’t call the shine “subtle”, as it was far from that. And perhaps most disappointingly of all, it didn’t deliver on its promise of “intense color”. The shade hardly showed up on my lips. It seemed more of a nude color on my lips when applied. Those who like the nude or no-makeup look would probably like this shade.

Overall, I’m a little let down that the color wasn’t to my liking – not the fault of anyone of course, it’s just a matter of personal preference. That said, I’m curious to try the other shades in the Subtle Shine line. I’ve seen other reviews on the net for another shade, Giddy (see Shen’s Addiction and Kira Ramirez (Elegantly Wasted)), and looking at the rest of the available colors, there are others that seem promising. Ah, well. My search continues…

4 thoughts on “Review: VMV Hypoallergenics Subtle Shine Lipstick in Girl Next Door

  1. We share the same opinion on this…I really wanted to like it 😦 It doesn’t show up at all. On my wrist it seems opaque, but on my lips, it looks very sheer. Either that, or it’s the EXACT color of my lips. My-lips-not-better.

    • Yes… I tried to use it again this morning hoping something would change but no luck. I haven’t yet tried the other shades in the same line, perhaps there’s something there that works.

      Thanks for dropping by!

  2. Pingback: Review: Kanebo Freshel Mineral BB Cream « mother | worker | chef | wife

  3. Pingback: What To Do With Used Cosmetics? | mother | worker | chef | wife

Leave a Reply

