Review: Eye of Horus Goddess Mascara

One of the advantages of subscribing to beauty boxes is that you get to discover new brands or products you wouldn’t normally know of or hear about, and at a fraction of the cost. It’s the reason why I’m so pleased with the GlamourBox November box: the hands-down best item in the box has to be the Eye of Horus Goddess Mascara.

About the product (from their website):

Ideal for sensitive eyes Eye of Horus Mascara strengthens and lengthens for ultimate Goddess lashes

Naturally formulated in the style of the ancient Egyptians with plant based ingredients and Waxes including:

  • Carnauba wax
  • Beeswax
  • Rice Bran wax
  • Candelilla wax

Benefits:

  • Flexible brush glides with lashes and curls
  • Won’t irritate eyes or sting
  • Easily removable; use warm water to melt and dissolve waxes
  • Coats lashes evenly
  • Assist in lash growth
  • Natural formula wont clump or clog
  • Conditions and strengthens lash structure
  • Treatment that cares for your lashes

Eye of Horus guarantees you unsurpassed quality and integrity in our products. We offer a 100% money back guarantee of complete customer satisfaction.

I like the idea of using natural, skin-friendly ingredients especially on my eyes. Eye makeup (eyeliner, eyeshadow, mascara) tends to make my eyes water. And since I wear daily contact lenses, product that gets into my eyes really sting. A lot. So I don’t regularly use eye makeup. Reading the EoH Goddess Mascara’s description, though, makes it sound like a promising product for me.

The packaging is luxuriously exotic, consistent with the brand’s Egyptian theme: a black box with a stylized golden eye of Horus and the line: “Awaken the goddess within”. The symbol, by the way, represents “regeneration, health and protection… [and] ensures healing, wisdom and prosperity to its bearer.” I couldn’t bear to throw away or set aside the box, as it stands out nicely on my dresser. And it was nice to be reminded of it, sort of like a mantra, every time I put my makeup on.

Application was easy and clump-free with the short-bristled, flexible brush that lets the mascara grab on to each and every lash, coating it evenly and smoothly. It managed to curl my lashes too after a few coats, so there goes the need for a lash curler (not that I had one, anyway!). As I was applying the mascara, I blinked, and some of the product went under my eyes; but a quick, light swipe with a finger effectively removed it.

Staying power is really great as it did not budge after application. I think I rubbed at my eyes at some point during the day, and I didn’t see any smudge marks on my eyes. Equally great is that removal was as easy as washing my face with my cleanser – I didn’t have to use makeup remover or cleansing wipes or anything like that. The fact that I didn’t have to add a step to my makeup removal routine to accommodate using this mascara was more plus points for it.

I’ve only been using the mascara for a few days, so I can’t attest to experiencing any of the additional benefits such as lengthening and strengthening of the lashes. But, overall, I really like this product and will be using it more in the days to come! I’m also excited to try the other Eye of Horus products, such as their Bronze Amulet Goddess Pencil and Organic Microfiber Cloth.

P.S. today’s been an overcast day so I wasn’t able to take good pictures. I should be able to add them as an update to this post in the next few days. (updated on December 28: my own pictures added, more to be added!)

P.P.S. other Eye of Horus Goddess Mascara reviews:

5 thoughts on “Review: Eye of Horus Goddess Mascara

  1. Pingback: Unboxing Review / Initial Impressions: an Eye of Horus goddess haul « mother | worker | chef | wife

  2. Pingback: Review: LA Splash Enlightened Creamy Shadow Base in Highlight « mother | worker | chef | wife

  3. Pingback: Review: Kanebo Freshel Mineral BB Cream « mother | worker | chef | wife

  4. Pingback: What To Do With Used Cosmetics? | mother | worker | chef | wife

  5. Pingback: Eye of Horus – Essential Packs Now Available | mother | worker | chef | wife

Leave a Reply

