Review: Human Nature Baby Wash and Baby Oil

My daughter has been using the Human Nature Baby Care products for quite awhile now so I thought I’d share my (her) experience with them. There are actually three products corresponding to each step in their baby care process, from bath to bed routine, and this review is for Step 1 (Baby Wash) and Step 3 (Baby Oil).

Step 1: Cleanse and Calm – Baby Wash

Our natural Baby Wash will cleanse your baby’s skin and hair completely harmful chemical-free. Made with mild scents like lavender, rosemary, and chamomile, it will calm and soothe your baby during every bath time. So now you can be sure your baby’s sensitive skin is getting only the gentlest of nature’s goodness.

Ingredients: aqua, decyl glucoside (coconut derived), coco glucoside (coconut derived), glyceryl oleate (plant derived), sodium gluconate (sugar cane derived), sodium cocoyl isethionate (coconut derived), Chamomilla recutita (chamomile), flower/leaf extract, Rosmarinus officinalis (rosemary) extract, Lavandula angustifolia (lavender) extract, xanthan gum, fragrance (all-natural), levunilic acid (rice or corn derived), anisic acid (anise seed derived), sodium phytate (rice bran derived), citric acid

I love the Baby Wash. The combination of lavender, rosemary, and chamomile is lovely – next to milk/powder, it’s the perfect scent for babies and toddlers. It can be used as a body wash as well as a shampoo. It lathers up well and cleanses effectively. I’m not sure about the calming effect though – my daughter has always been energetic! My only complaint is that immediately after rinsing, my daughter’s hair seems to be “sticky” and tangled. But after drying and combing, her hair is softer and more manageable. Other plus points are that, at PHP289.75 per 500ml bottle, it’s affordable. I usually stock up and buy two or three bottles at a time. The packaging is quite nice, too: I love the saucily winking animal (zebra?) in the bathtub.

Step 2: Moisturize and Nourish – Baby Lotion

I’m not including this yet in my review because my daughter hasn’t really extensively used this. Also, as a parent, I’m not exactly sure how different step 2 is from step 3?

Step 3: Protect and Nurture – Baby Oil

Studies have shown massaging newborns with sunflower oil everyday can lessen the risk of skin infections by 41%!* That’s why we made sure our 100% natural baby oil is made with pure, premium-grade sunflower oil to help heal, protect and nourish baby’s skin. Now you can nurture your bond with baby through mommy’s and nature’s special touch.

Also great for helping heal little bumps and insect bites, preventing diaper rash, and cleaning baby belly buttons and ears!

Most baby oils are made from mineral oil, a petroleum by-product listed by the US Registry of Toxins Effects of Chemical Substances as carcinogenic & tumorigenic. Give your baby a healthy start to life by avoiding mineral oil!

Ingredients: Helianthus annuus (sunflower) seed oil, caprylic/capric triglyceride (coconut derived), glyceryl caprylate (coconut, palm and glycerine derived), natural fragrance

The Baby Oil is something to rave about. Just recently, my daughter had a few mosquito bites which turned into open wounds when she scratched them. Once they healed (and that took awhile cause she would scratch and pick at them), they left unsightly wound marks on her legs. I applied Baby Oil twice a day on her legs, and in a matter of a few days, the wounds started to lighten! I’ve now been using it proactively on new mosquito bites on top of their Citronella Bug Spray – another product I like.

Overall, I’m quite happy with my experience with these two products and would highly recommend them to other parents with toddlers. They also have a Kids Care line for older children (I believe 3 years old and above) which my daughter will be switching to later this year.

You can order through the Human Nature website; the ordering process is quite easy, and shipping takes a day or two after you place your order.

One thought on “Review: Human Nature Baby Wash and Baby Oil

  1. Pingback: My organic, natural anti-mosquito arsenal « mother | worker | chef | wife

Leave a Reply

