Review: Benefit Cosmetics The Porefessional

I have a pretty simple makeup routine: tinted moisturizer, blush, lipstick, and (just recently), mascara. I don’t usually bother with anything else as 1) I’m an amateur when it comes to makeup application, 2) I don’t have time to go through a full makeup routine everyday, and 3) I don’t have time to do extensive makeup removal at night. Every once in awhile, though, I get my hands on a product and give it a try. Last December, courtesy of GlamourBox’s December box, I had the opportunity to try Benefit Cosmetics’ The Porefessional, a makeup primer in balm form that helps to minimize the appearance of pores.

Benefit Cosmetics the POREfessional

Benefit Cosmetics the POREfessional

Quickly minimize the appearance of pores & fine lines for smoother-than-smooth skin! Apply this silky, lightweight balm alone, under or over makeup. Translucent, oil-free formula complements all skintones and helps makeup stay put. Contains a Vitamin E derivative, known to protect skin from free radicals.

Ingredients: CYCLOPENTASILOXANE, DIMETHICONE, DIMETHICONE/VINYL DIMETHICONE CROSSPOLYMER, ISONONYL ISONONANOATE, SILICA, DIMETHICONE CROSSPOLYMER, ISODODECANE, PHENOXYETHANOL, POLYMETHYL METHACRYLATE, TITANIUM DIOXIDE (CI 77891), CYCLOHEXASILOXANE, TOCOPHERYL ACETATE, FRAGRANCE (PARFUM), MICA, IRON OXIDES (CI 77492), LIMONENE, IRON OXIDES (CI 77491), IRON OXIDES (CI 77499), TRIETHOXYCAPRYLYLSILANE, BHT. N° 04932/N

The Porefessional’s top ingredients are silicone based components typically used in conditioning the hair and skin. Some people have sensitivity or reactions to silicone or dimethicone-based products, so that’s a watchout (always read the ingredients list!). I’m not aware of any past sensitivities to these ingredients so I went ahead and tried this product.

Benefit says to apply the product under makeup, on clean and moisturized skin, focusing on the T-zone where the pores are usually larger. Once you pick up the product with your fingers, you can already feel the silkiness it promises to deliver on to your skin. After patting and blending, you’ll immediately notice that your skin is smoother, both in feel and look.

Let me clarify expectations though by saying that it doesn’t completely cover pores (i.e. they won’t disappear), but they are minimized. Also, since it is a primer, it does nothing for redness, discolorations, fine lines, wrinkles, or oiliness. Its specific use is for pore minimization, and it does exactly that.

On their website, Benefit also suggests using it over makeup whenever pores “reappear” (which I think means when the product wears off during the day). The great thing about this product is that a little goes a long way. I don’t apply it all over my face, just on the spots that need help the most. With the sample sachets given to me, it should last about 4-5 uses.

Overall it’s a great product but I’m on the fence as to whether I’ll purchase the full size or not. I see the benefits of using it, though pore minimization is the least of my priorities at the moment. I’m more after a product that can control oiliness. But if I’m in the market for primers, this is definitely one to consider.

Have you tried Benefit Cosmetics’ The Porefessional? Share your experience here!

2 thoughts on “Review: Benefit Cosmetics The Porefessional

  1. Pingback: A Benefit skincare and make up goodie bag made my day! | Chocolate Spoon & The Camera

  2. Pingback: Review: Kanebo Freshel Mineral BB Cream « mother | worker | chef | wife

Leave a Reply

