Unboxing Review / Initial Impressions: an Eye of Horus goddess haul

(Side note: this is my 25th post! Hurray!)

It’s still Christmas over here at my house as I received two packages from the mail today. I’ll review the other one for tomorrow, but for today, let me preface it by saying: I am now an Eye of Horus goddess.

A few days back I posted a review of the Goddess Mascara, which I absolutely love – from its branding and packaging, to its natural ingredients, ease of application (and removal), and lash-caring properties. Now, the goddesses over at Eye of Horus sent me a package full of their gorgeous products to play with…

goddess love

goddess love

Read on for my unboxing review / initial impressions. Trust me, I was like a kid on Christmas morning as I unpacked and unboxed the goodies. I can’t mention it enough, I adore their packaging. They really do have a commitment to brand consistency!

Ultimate Goddess Essentials Pack

Ultimate Goddess Essentials Pack

The Ultimate Goddess Essentials Pack is a six-piece collection of their products in a slim, black mesh kit that’s perfect to throw in your bag, for office or travel. For AUD$89, you get the following items:

Goddess Mascara with Egyptian Moringa Oil

Goddess Mascara with Egyptian Moringa Oil

I’ve already reviewed the mascara previously so I almost didn’t pay attention to this one… until I noticed something different. It seems to be a new formulation, with the added ingredient of Egyptian moringa oil! I didn’t know that there was an Egyptian version, or that moringa can be processed into oil, so this was something new to me. Guess what – Ancient Egyptians used moringa extensively:

Moringa oil is a non-drying nutty flavored oil with a clear or slightly pale yellow consistency. The healing properties have been documented for centuries, dating back to ancient cultures. It has been used in skin preparations and ointments since Egyptian times.

Moringa’s value has long since been known to the ancients. This may explain why the Egyptians placed vases of Moringa oil in their tombs, for use in the afterlife. It’s potent antioxidant profile, which gives the oil its remarkable stability, is also the reason it’s included in some of the best skin moisturizers, anti-aging creams, and other skin health products around the world. (Source)

Wow, I learned something new today. And I’m impressed that Eye of Horus is consistent in its theme even with its choice of ingredients. The mascara will definitely be one of the first items I will try out from this haul.

Natural Smoky Eye Pencil

Natural Smoky Eye Pencil

The Natural Smokey Eye Pencil is all-natural, paraben-free, not tested on animals and waterproof. It’s versatile enough to be worn at night but also for day too. One end has the pencil while the other end has a smudger tip to let you use the pencil either as a liner or blended. Made of jojoba, macadamia and mango oils, candelila and carnauba wax, and shea butter, it’s extremely smooth on application, but I’ll definitely do a road test on this once summer nears, to see if it withstands the heat.

Liquid Define Eye Liner

Liquid Define Eye Liner

Now here’s a smart product. If you need to draw a perfect line, what better way than use a pen, right? Easy. And what’s more, the tip can be flipped around (use tweezers to extract and reverse the tip) so you get more “life” to it. I used to wear the winged-liner look but my main difficulty was keeping the line straight and even throughout (yup, I’m a novice), so this will come in really, really helpful.

Also in the kit are: a custom compact mirror (one side is magnified, the other a regular mirror – I noticed though that mine comes in gold, while the one on the website is black and gold), a microfiber cleansing cloth that’s super soft and great for makeup removal or facial cleansing, and a cosmetic sharpener for all the Eye of Horus pencils.

Aside from the Ultimate Goddess Essentials Pack, I also received:

Charcoal Obsidian Goddess Pencil

Charcoal Obsidian Goddess Pencil

This pencil is a dark gray with a slight shimmer, so it’s an alternative to the Natural Smokey Eye Pencil for daytime use. But similar to it, this is waterproof, smudge-proof, and long-lasting.

Bronze Amulet Goddess Pencil

Bronze Amulet Goddess Pencil

A copper-bronze shade, this can be deepened or lightened depending on how much you apply. I think it would be great paired with the Natural Smokey Eye Pencil.

Teal Malachite Goddess Pencil

Teal Malachite Goddess Pencil

This was just released early this month and the goddesses generously bestowed this upon me! Again, this teal-colored stone was not unknown to Egyptians:

Reputed to have strong therapeutic properties, Egyptians believed that wearing malachite in bands around the head and arms protected the wearer from the frequent cholera epidemics that ravaged Egypt — since slaves who mined malachite (a form of copper carbonate) were often unaffected by the plagues.
The Egyptians used malachite primarily for amulets, jewelry and cosmetics: powdered malachite was made into kohl, an Egyptian eye shadow. (Source)

Finally, the goddesses also enclosed some Eye of Horus marketing materials. They’re so pretty!

Okay, this has been a long unboxing review. I’m going to play with my new toys for a bit – will be posting the detailed reviews soon. Once again, thank you to the goddesses at Eye of Horus for this amazing, generous package. What a treat!

Full disclosure: the products were provided by Eye of Horus free of charge – I did not pay for anything except the DHL delivery fee. All opinions as stated in this post are my honest and personal reviews of the products and the brand.

One thought on “Unboxing Review / Initial Impressions: an Eye of Horus goddess haul

  1. Pingback: Swatches and Photos: Eye of Horus Liners « mother | worker | chef | wife

Leave a Reply

