Tuna Patties, a follow up

So a few days back I blogged about making tuna patties for my daughter.

Here’s the picture from the recipe I followed:

And here’s how mine turned out:

Some key differences:

  • Instead of turning them into flat patties, I turned them into bite-sized balls that are perfect for tiny toddler hands.
  • There’s a lot more mashed potatoes in there versus tuna, corn and cheese.
  • I used a ricer that I bought from Gourdo’s for PHP480 (first kitchen gadget purchase for the year and I love it!). This gave the potatoes a really fine, not lumpy at all texture.
  • I wasn’t too happy with the cheddar I used; I didn’t taste it at all. I’ll have to try other cheeses next time.
  • They baked wonderfully, but pan-frying them in a little olive oil works great as well.
  • I made them the night before and in the morning, baked them for 7-10 minutes, turning halfway to let the other side develop a crispy shell).

I’m pleased with this recipe and will definitely be making more of them in the future. But they’ll be more of a potato-cheese ball as I want to explore adding other ingredients in there other than tuna and corn. My daughter loves them by the way, so this is a recipe to keep and use for those times when I’m out of ideas on what to put in her baon.

Leave a Reply

