Review: Shiseido Benefiance WrinkleResist24 Balancing Softener

I received a sample size of Shiseido’s Benefiance WrinkleResist24 Balancing Softener from the Glamourbox November 2012 box. Unfortunately back then I had just started on another toner, and I didn’t want to mix results by starting on another toner; so it’s only this month that I got to test this one.

What it is:
A comprehensive age-defying lotion that contains the effective ingredients to challenge signs of skin aging.

What it does:
By generously moisturizing the skin, this sumptuous softener instantly helps to re-texturize your skin, making it more receptive to further skincare treatment.

What else you need to know:
Shiseido Benefiance WrinkleResist24 is a complete line of skincare products that targets every step of wrinkle formation. Each product contains a breakthrough ingredient, mukurossi extract, which directly inhibits the activity of a wrinkle-triggering enzyme. Skin is made resistant to future signs of aging while existing wrinkles are visibly improved.

Ingredients:

Water, Dipropylene Glycol, Glycerin, SD Alcohol 40-B, Butylene Glycol, Phenoxyethanol, Hydrogenated Polydecene, PEG-30 Soy Sterol, Isostearic Acid, Benzophenone-5, Erythritol, PEG/PPG-14/7 Dimethyl Ether, PEG/PPG-7/14 Dimethyl Ether, Sodium Citrate, Algin, Fragrance, Sodium Metaphosphate, Citric Acid, Sorbitan Sesquiisostearate, Serine, Tocopheryl Acetate, Sapindus Mukurossi Peel Extract, Butylphenyl Methylpropional, Limonene, Linalool, Citronellol, Alpha-Isomethyl Ionone, Sodium Acetylated Hyaluronate, Hydroxyproline, Alcohol, Chlorella Vulgaris Extract, Yellow 6, Uncaria Gambir Extract, Red 4, Tocopherol

I’m in my early thirties so I’ve been looking for anti-aging, anti-wrinkle products (aside from products that can help manage my still-oily skin!). Looking at this product’s description, it promises both short- and long-term effects: immediate moisturization to enable better absorption of other skin treatments, and prevention of future wrinkles. Wow, it sounds almost good to be true.

Here’s how I use it. After cleansing, I put a few drops on a cotton pad, and gently run it over my face. (Some people put it directly on their palms rather than a cotton pad.) I find that 2-3 drops is enough so I’m assuming the full-sized product will last months – which is great, because the 150ml / 5oz one costs $44!

There are a few immediate effects that I can attest to. First, it calms the redness off my skin – and this is great for me, as I still battle with redness on my cheeks. Second, it really, tangibly softens my skin a mere seconds after using my skin. And third, my skin feels refreshed – and it’s not just a clean-face kind of feeling, but a moisturized, healthy one.

Unfortunately with a sample-sized product, I didn’t see any of the promised long-term effects; no reduced or prevented wrinkles for me! Also, I’m still thinking if I should get the full-size of this product. It’s quite expensive, so I’m hoping I could find something more affordable with equal, if not better, results. If you have the budget for it, though, and if you like to give your skin some pampering, this softener might be just for you. Note that there is an Enriched version which has different ingredients and seems to be more of a day-time moisturizer.

Have you tried this product or any from the Shiseido Benefiance line? Feel free to share your experience here!

One thought on “Review: Shiseido Benefiance WrinkleResist24 Balancing Softener

  1. Pingback: Review: Kanebo Freshel Mineral BB Cream « mother | worker | chef | wife

Leave a Reply

