Potstickers, a follow up

So last week my inspiration post was for potstickers. Here’s how they turned out:

Practice really does make perfect as they’re considerably better than my first batch, which I was so horrified with that I didn’t bother taking a picture of them. I’ve learned through experience not to put too much filling, to seal around the filling to push out any air pockets, to freeze properly to prevent them from sticking to each other. I’ve also learned to add some finely grated ginger to the sauce combination of vinegar, soy sauce, and chili sesame oil to give it even more of a kick.

I have a batch sitting in the freezer ready to be pan-fried anytime I’m craving for them. I’m planning to make some more over the weekend, too.

My own recipe (which is more gyoza than anything):

  • 1/4kg ground pork
  • 1 carrot, finely grated
  • 1 cup cabbage, finely shredded
  • 1 tsp sesame oil
  • 1 tbsp soy sauce
  • 1.5 inch piece of ginger, finely grated
  • 2 garlic cloves, finely grated
  • 1 pack wonton wrappers

Simply combine everything except the wrappers. Take about half a spoonful of the mixture and put in the center of a wrapper. Dip a finger in water and moisten the edges of the wrapper (this will help seal it). Fold in half, but don’t quite seal it yet; with thumb and forefinger, try to seal around the filling, pushing out any air pockets that form.

To cook, add enough vegetable oil to cover the bottom of a frying pan. Heat to medium high, then arrange the potstickers in the pan. It’ll take about 1-2 minutes for the underside to cook. (I like both sides to be crispy and brown, so I turn the potstickers over before proceeding.) Add 1/4 cup water then cover the pan with a lid, letting them steam for about 5 minutes. I let the water evaporate before uncovering and turning off the heat. The dumplings might stick to the pan (hence the name), so be careful lifting them out. Serve to eagerly-waiting family members.

Do you have a potsticker/dumpling recipe? Feel free to share below!

4 thoughts on “Potstickers, a follow up

Leave a Reply

