Review: The Glossybox Man Repeller (January 2013) box

This box took a long time coming, but it is finally here!

I have always wanted to try international beauty boxes, but obviously, shipping is limited to their respective countries. Now, thanks to Johnny Air, I was able to subscribe to Glossybox‘s January box, The Man Repeller Box.

Glossybox is, in my opinion, the best US beauty box out there in terms of content quality and value-for-money. It’s also the most expensive if I’m not mistaken. But looking at the computation below, if you compare the box’s retail value to what I actually paid for, it’s still worth getting one.

I have heard a lot of complaints about their customer service though. They were quite overwhelmed with the demand for TMR box and were still advertising subscriptions even as they were swamped with orders. Emails were left unanswered, and the boxes were shipped out nearly towards the end of the January. I didn’t have a problem with the delayed shipping (so long as they shipped them out) since I was busy enjoying the local Glamourbox goodies (and still am!) and other recent purchases.

The box arrived in the Johnny Air NY office on February 1, and it was shipped out to the Philippines on February 2. I got it on February 8.

Another side note: I have honestly never heard of The Man Repeller until I read about Glossybox’s collaboration with her. So really, the deciding factor for me – aside from the cost-benefit analysis – wasn’t her, but the contents of the box themselves. They were obviously high-quality brands that I would normally not have access to. Getting the box meant I get to try them at a fraction of the cost.

Okay, without further adieu, here are the contents with my initial thoughts:

A Glossybox magazine was included in the shipping box (not inside the Glossybox box itself), with articles on Leandra Medine, The Man Repeller; tips on natural beauty; obsessions of international bloggers; and that of Glossybox NY office staffers. It gave me a couple ideas of future beauty purchases.

A note from Leandra Medine. Thank you Leandra for your perfectly curated box!

The note unfolds to list the box contents, listing their full-size amount and cost as well as brief descriptions for each item.

The contents are wrapped in black wrapping paper with silvery stars, tied with a gray ribbon and sealed with a pink sticker with the Glossybox logo. Inside, I found…

Estee Lauder Sumptuous Extreme Lash Multiplying Volume Mascara (sample size, approx $12.50; full size $25/.27oz): I have one too many mascaras but I do love having sample-sized ones as they’re perfect for my everyday makeup kit and for travel. This has been around since 2010 and have received good reviews. Looking forward to adding this to my mascara rotation.

Three different high-volume fibers create audacious, false-lash effects. Lustrous color leaves eyes brighter, wider, more seductive than ever. Build bigger, bolder, more extreme lashes at the Estée Lauder counter today.

Fresh Umbrian Clay Mattifying Serum (sample size, approx $5.25; full size $35/1oz) and Living Proof Prime Style Extender (sample size, $4; full size $20/5oz): Ooh, so interested in Fresh’s serum as my oily, huge-pored skin needs something to keep it well-behaved throughout the day! And I’ve never heard of a hair primer until now. Aside from shampoo and conditioner I don’t use hair products regularly, mainly because I hate sleeping with “dirty” hair and I’d rather not wash my hair morning and night. So there you go. I’ll probably reserve this for use after I get a new hairstyle.

Umbrian Clay, Fresh’s proprietary ingredient, has a uniquely high-mineral content that works to neutralize acidity, purifying and clarifying the complexion. This treatment formula tones and hydrates while controlling shine and minimizing the appearance of pores.

Meet Prime, a first-of-its-kind, style-extending hair primer. Prime extends hair styles 2x longer, while enabling you to go longer between shampoos with fewer touch-ups. This Style Extender is formulated with our advanced priming system, designed with OFPMA and priming emollients to create an exquisitely thin, weightless shield around every hair strand. In Prime, this shield keeps hydrogen bonds in place so hairstyles stay beautiful for days. OFPMA also repels dirt and oil, so styles stay cleaner, longer. Prime is so perfecting it can be used alone, yet so weightless it can be layered under other styles. Get style with stamina and save time, day after day.

Le Metier de Beaute Replenishing Daily Solution (sample size, $13.23; full size $225/1.17oz): holy cow, a sample of a skincare product that costs PHP10K? I don’t know if I should start using this up immediately or save it up! I can honestly tell you right now that I won’t be purchasing the full-size of this item in the short-term future (who knows about the long-term, one can hope), but I’m still glad I get to try a fraction of it today.

This highly emollient cream is designed to condition and hydrate while it nourishes and detoxifies—the formula normalizes the skin’s moisture content to provide unparalleled suppleness. Broad-spectrum SPF 30 protects the skin damaging UVA/UVB rays.

Narciso Rodriguez for her Eau de Toilette Spray (sample size, approx $1.44; full size $77/1.6oz): oof, I don’t really go for musky-floral scents, but that’s how this one smells to me. I have to be careful to use this very, very lightly or it’ll be overpowering. I may gift this to someone who can better wear it.

A fragrant harmony of music, intimately refined with a floral facet developing gently and slowly, rounding out into the feminine warm tones of sun-kissed skin, dusted in soft, velvet-like sensuality.

Opi “Can’t Let Go” Liquid Sand Nail Lacquer (full size $9/.5oz): a nail polish that dries to a matte liquid sand finish? Whoa. (Yes, I’m a nailpolish newbie; most of you have probably heard of this before!) I’ve been more of a gel-polish kind of person (if I do get a mani-pedi, that is; and with all the cooking I do, I generally don’t have anything on my fingernails) but this is so interesting I’m planning to get a pedi and have this applied.

A unique matte purple shade with subtle accents of reflective shimmer. This long wearing liquid sand lacquer dries to a matte finish which means no top coat is necessary! Apply base coat and two coats of color for full opacity.

Vincent Longo Lipstain SPF 15 Lipstick in Belle Etoile (full size $23/0.12oz): this is probably the item that I’m most excited to have. Someone in makeupalley.com described this as “a more sophisticated buildable version of Clinique Black Honey with fewer red tones and a smoother texture”. (By the way, some reviews mentioned that they got Cherry rather than Belle Etoile, but I’m quite happy with what I got!)

This award winning Lipstain Lipstick with SPF15, aloe vera and Vitamin E works to soften and nourish the lip tissue while delicately tinting lips with a glossy coat of sheer color. The emollient lightweight texture clings to lips to ensure it won‘t bleed over the lip line.

All in all, the price of the box contents is $68.42. I paid about $23 for the box ($21 for the monthly subscription plus NY taxes) and about $20 for Johnny Air mail forwarding services. I paid just 60% of the retail value – which is a great deal by any standards.

I’m so happy I got this box. It was definitely worth the wait. Others got, instead of the VL Lipstick, either a Tarte Glamazon lipstick or a Tarte Achiote cheek tint (see related), but I’m fine with it. (I probably wouldn’t be able to put the red lipsticks to much use, anyhow!). I’ve already subscribed to Glossybox’s February box which promises to have an international theme.

What do you think of the Glossybox – The Man Repeller January box collaboration? Have you tried any of the products above? Feel free to share your thoughts below!

Related:

  • Lofty Appetite got the Tarte Glamazon lipstick variant of the box
  • Glamorable got the same variant as mine, but the Vincent Longo lipstick is in another shade (Cherry).
  • The Dauphine got the Tarte Achiote cheek tint variant of the box
5 thoughts on “Review: The Glossybox Man Repeller (January 2013) box

    • Nice! I haven’t yet gotten around to using it (was makeup free over the weekend), hopefully will get to try it this week and I have a good feeling about it 🙂

  1. Pingback: Review: Vincent Longo SPF 15 Lip Stain Lipstick in Belle Etoile | mother | worker | chef | wife

Leave a Reply

