Chicken Pot Pie, a follow up

I had been so busy over the weekend that I almost failed to make these, despite declaring my excitement last week. The good news is I was able to squeeze in time to cook the filling Monday night, put them in the ramekins, add the topping Tuesday morning and have them for lunch on the same day.

Cooking them had been easier than I thought. It reminded me of making chicken a la king, which led to the idea of buying those croissant-like bread bowls from The French Baker and serving the creamy chicken filling in those – similar how to The French Baker serves their chicken a la king. I’m getting hungry again just thinking about it.

before being topped with puff pastry and baked

before being topped with puff pastry and baked

I used frozen carrots, peas, and corn (as I had a bag in the freezer that needed to be used) in addition to onions and celery. I wanted to add mushrooms, too, which I’ll be doing in my next batch. The recipe I used didn’t call for herbs, but rosemary and thyme would be great for adding to the flavor and aroma. I also used frozen puff pastry rather than the cheesy mashed potato topping. Other than these two variations, I followed Annabel Karmel’s recipe.

the end result. yum.

I’m quite happy with the results, as were my husband and daughter. The sauce was creamy (must be all the butter and cheese!), the chicken tender and flavorful (it helped to poach them in stock before adding them to the filling). I think leaving it overnight helped for the flavors to meld and develop. I will definitely be making them for days when I need some comforting. I’m not sure of their freezer life, though I’ve seen frozen pies being sold (i.e. Bag of Beans). If anyone knows how long they will keep in the freezer, let me know.

Do you have a favorite chicken pot pie recipe? Have you tried making them at home? I’d love to hear from you!

Leave a Reply

