Review: Carmex Moisturizing Lip Balm

Carmex Moisturizing Lip Balm (full size 7.5g, PHP109.75): Carmex contains natural moisturizers such as cocoa butter & lanolin. These and other emollients give you healthy-looking lips by moistening & preventing chapping caused by the environment. Ingredients: Petrolatum, Lanolin, Cetyl Esters, Theobroma Cacao (Cocao) Seed Butter, Cera Alba (Beeswax), Cera Microcristallina, Camphor, Menthol, Salicylic Acid, Fragrance, Vanillin.

This is just a quick review of Carmex’s lip balm which I got via Glamourbox’s February box. It comes in a small, handy pot that easily fits into my makeup bag. Inside, the product has a dark yellow ochre shade – though it turns colorless when applied. There’s a faint smell of menthol but it does not overpower, nor linger or sting the lips.

Curious though about the salicylic acid in the ingredients list. I wonder what a drying ingredient is doing in a moisturizing lip balm? Lucky for me, it doesn’t cause any dryness or irritation. I looked it up online and it seems that salicylic acid is used to treat cold sores, which explains why some reviews mention that this lip balm is effective in treating such.

One or two swipes is enough to coat my lips. Then I top it with lip gloss or lipstick. While the underlayer of balm helps to smoothen the application of the gloss/stick, it lessens the staying power somewhat.

This lip balm was most effective for me when I had severely chapped lips during our out of town family trip. I applied a thick layer on my lips before sleeping, and by the next morning – and with light exfoliation – the dry skin was gone.

I have been using this about twice daily for nearly a month and a half, and I’m happy with the results. Despite using it twice daily, though, I’ve barely made a dent in it, so I expect this will last me anothet three to six months.

Have you tried the Carmex Moisturizing Lip Balm? Let me know your thoughts!

Related articles:

Leave a Reply

