Unboxing: BirchBox April 2013 Box

This is my first Birchbox so I’m quite excited to share what I received!

This month’s theme: “APRIL 2013: Spring has sprung, and there’s no better time to fine-tune our lifestyles. That’s why we teamed up with Women’s Health to put together this month’s Birchbox. You’ll find editor-approved products that will help you get your beauty routine in shape for the season. We’ve also got plenty of inspiration for how you can improve your overall outlook—it’s all about tiny tweaks, big results. Start by reading an interview with an inspiring natural foods company CEO (you’re going to love her philosophy on indulgence) and taking a peek into the gym bags of three fitness-loving Birchbox staffers. Improve your morning cuppa with our video on brewing the perfect cup of tea (it turns out we were doing it wrong the whole time!) and find out what beauty products are a must for your next outdoor excursion. Happy playing!”

The box itself is smaller than the other beauty boxes that I subscribe to, which makes for a more economical and eco-friendly package.

The box card – one side has the box contents, the other, the theme of the month

Ta-da! The box contents.

Nexxus Youth Renewal Rejuvenating Elixir: it’s not just your skin that needs antiaging help. This new shine-boosting serum cures dry strands and reduces the odds of age-related breakage.

I’ve never thought that my hair would need anti-aging care. I thought they’re actually dead cells? I’ve been using this for the past few days, but haven’t seen any major results in terms of breakage prevention. Perhaps it takes longer to notice any effects?

Skin&Co Roma Cleansing Body Gel with Olive & Sicilian Orange Extracts: you won’t be able to go back to regular soap after trying this freshly scented, antioxidant-packed shower gel from Rome. 

This one smells really, really good. I love the citrusy smell. 

StriVectin-SD Eye Concentrate for Wrinkles: a beauty editor favorite, StriVectin’s cream uses a patented molecule peptide to diminish fine lines and reverse the look of puffy circles.

Ah, if only the full size weren’t so expensive, I would have bought it. I’ve heard good things about this brand and product. I’ve only been using it for the last three days, so no noticeable results yet, but I love how smooth it is to apply and how easy it is to be absorbed by the skin. Here’s hoping I see diminished dark circles and wrinkles soon!

Youngblood Mineral Cosmetics Anti-Shine Mattifier: matte is in. Dab this shine-zapping balm onto your T-zone before applying foundation.

I wish this came with an applicator and I wish the sample size were bigger. It did manage to keep the oiliness at bay for a few hours, though my overly active skin was back to its usual oily self soon enough.

Weleda Body Lotion: this creamy lotion uses substainably harvested plant oils and natural hydrators to restore skin’s moisture levels.

Not really a big fan of lotions in general, so not really too thrilled about these samples.

I’m a little bit torn on whether I should continue subscribing or not. The products are okay, but not compelling.

To those who currently subscribe to Birchbox, what do you think of this month’s box?

Follow Birchbox on Facebook or Twitter, or go to their official website to subscribe.

Leave a Reply

